Facebook Twitter

OCSD5 Announces Schedule
For High School Graduations

    The 2016 commencement exercises for the three high schools in Orangeburg Consolidated School District Five will be held as follows: North High School at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, May 27, 2016 in the school’s gymnasium; Bethune-Bowman High School at 12:00 noon on Saturday, May 28, 2016 in the school’s gymnasium; and Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 28, 2016 at Oliver C. Dawson Stadium on the campus of South Carolina State University. In the event of inclement weather, the Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School graduation will be moved to the Smith-Hammond-Middleton Memorial Center and the overflow will go to the MLK Auditorium. The commencement exercises will begin promptly as scheduled and those individuals desiring to attend should plan to be seated no later than thirty minutes before the programs begin. Please be reminded that the graduation ceremonies are solemn events and a dress code emphasizing dressy attire will be enforced for all persons above the age of five. Guests should wear semi-formal attire (no jean material, halter tops, spaghetti straps, shorts, short dresses/skirts, or sneakers).


North Middle/High Seniors Receive Visit
From Senator Tim Scott

    U.S. Senator Tim Scott made a stop at North Middle/High School on Friday, May 6th to share an inspirational message with a group of senior students. Scott spoke about his experiences growing up in South Carolina and how he learned the lessons and benefits of hard work through a mentor who took an interest in him. Scott also commented about the current Presidential campaign and some of the controversies associated with the presumptive Republican nominee Donald Trump. Scott concluded his visit by taking questions from the students before wishing them success as they prepare to move beyond their high school years.

 Four Bruinettes Sign Basketball Letters of Intent,
Receive Scholarships

    The rich tradition of success for the Orangeburg-Wilkinson Girls Basketball program continued on April 13, 2016 as four senior members of the team signed basketball letters-of-intent on the first day of the national signing period to play college basketball.
    The senior players accepting college basketball scholarships were: Tchenavia “Shay” Jackson, Amari Grevious, Erin Houser, and Traiana Johnson. The entire story can be viewed under "District News" on the right side of this webpage.

Three OCSD5 Schools are Recipients
Palmetto Gold & Silver Awards

     The award winning schools are: Rivelon Elementary School (Silver in General Performance & Silver in Closing the Achievement Gap), William J. Clark Middle School (Silver in General Performance & Silver in Closing the Achievement Gap), and The Technology Center (Gold in General Performance). The entire story can be viewed under "District News" on the right side of this webpage.

              Click on Image to view list of all award winning schools.

OCSD5 Sets Schedule for
Severe Weather Make-Up Days

    The OCSD5 Board of Trustees set the schedule for severe weather make-up days at their regularly scheduled meeting on February 9, 2016. The dates of June 1st and June 2nd were added to the 2015-16 academic calendar to complete the requirement for make-up days following the week-long school closings caused by local flooding last October.
    The make-up days: February 15, March 24, May 31, June 1, & June 2.

Autumn G. Coulter, 4th Grade Teacher
at Sheridan Elementary, Named the
2015-16 OCSD5 District Teacher of the Year

To read the story, click on "2015-16 District Teacher of the Year Receives 2015 Toyota Camry" under District News.


Click HERE to view information and resources related to the proposed legislation on school consolidation in Orangeburg County, including a copy of the proposed legislation, current laws governing the three school districts, and related maps. (This link will take you to the Orangeburg Co. School District Provisions on the Orangeburg County website.)

 Welcome to our website!

    We hope you enjoy the Orangeburg Consolidated School District 5 website. A lot of work and attention went into streamlining the website's navigation menus and in reorganizing the way information is categorized to improve the online experience of every OCSD5 website visitor. We hope you will find it to be a valuable resource. Pages feature class descriptions, documents, homework assignments, presentations, research links, multimedia, and more. Teachers and staff members are updating their designs on their webpages periodically.
    Our goal is to keep the website current and full of information. So check back with us frequently to see the latest news about our schools and to learn about upcoming activities. As always, we welcome your suggestions and feedback at publicrelations@ocsd5.net